ODI World Cup 2023 Qualification Scenarios

The world is waiting for the World Cup 2023, which India will host. However, most of the teams around the world are getting ready for this big tournament. Moreover, for the last 2 years, every team has been preparing hard to secure the spot. There are several qualifying processes to secure a spot in this tournament. In this blog, we are going to discuss different qualification scenarios for the 2023 ODI World Cup. So get ready to see how your favorite team can compete. Top teams in the ICC One-Day International (ODI) rankings can directly secure their place. However, for the remaining teams, it is going to be a tough battle. Moreover, along with the teams, it is going to be a thrilling battle for the fans, too.

Qualification Scenarios: ODI World Cup 2023

Direct Qualification 

This is the best and most direct way to qualify for the tournament. The top seven teams in the ICC ODI rankings as of March 31, 2022, will automatically qualify for the tournament. India, as the hosts, will also receive an automatic qualification, meaning a total of eight teams will secure their places through this pathway.

As things stand, the top seven teams in the rankings are England, India, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Barring any major upsets, it’s likely that these teams will secure their places in the tournament through direct qualification.

Super League Eligibility

The second pathway to qualification is through the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. This league features the 12 full members of the ICC and the Netherlands, who won the ICC World Cricket League Championship in 2017. Each team plays eight series of three matches each, with four of these series taking place at home and four away.

The top seven teams in the Super League will qualify directly for the 2023 ODI World Cup, with the remaining five teams entering a qualifier tournament. As things stand, England, India, and New Zealand have already qualified for the World Cup through the Super League, with Australia, Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh all in strong positions to join them.

Qualifier Tournament

The third pathway to qualification is through the qualifier tournament, which will feature the remaining five teams from the Super League along with five teams that have qualified through the 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. The winner of this tournament will secure a final place in the 2023 ODI World Cup.

The 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifier will take place in Zimbabwe, featuring 10 teams from around the world. The top two teams from this tournament will qualify for the 2023 ODI World Cup, while the remaining eight teams will play in the Cricket World Cup League 2.

As things stand, the teams set to take part in the qualifier tournament are Afghanistan, Ireland, the West Indies, Zimbabwe, and the winner of the 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. It’s worth noting that the teams that finish in the top three in the qualifier tournament will also secure their places in the 2024 Cricket World Cup, adding extra incentive to perform well.

Points System

The points system for the Super League is relatively straightforward. Each team receives 10 points for a win, five points for a tie or no result, and zero points for a loss. Bonus points are also available, with one bonus point awarded for winning a series 4-0 or 5-0 and one bonus point awarded for winning a series 3-0 or 4-1.

As things stand, England leads the Super League standings with 90 points, followed by India with 79 points and New Zealand with 60 points. The Super League will continue through March 2023, with plenty of opportunities for teams to climb the rankings and secure their places in the World Cup.

Wrapping Up 

Indeed, the qualification process for the 2023 ICC World Cup is not easy. However, there are several ways for teams to secure a spot on the list. All the teams are working hard to get there. Moreover, the top seven teams in the ICC ODI ranking have an opportunity to qualify. Furthermore, there are other ways for other teams to compete, such as the Super League and qualifier tournaments.

This battle is going to be interesting. The World Cup is a big event, and all teams fight hard to get a spot in the tournament and to win it.