Pakistan’s Tour of Sri Lanka 2023

The test series for a new cycle of WTC has started. Moreover, Pakistan will play its first Test series with Sri Lanka. This test series will be part of the ICC WTC 2023–25 cycle. Furthermore, Babar Azam will lead the team in this series, and Mohammad Rizwan will be the vice-captain. However, Pakistan is in the 7th spot in the ICC World Test Championship 2021–23 with 64 points. Indeed, this is just the start of a new cycle of WTC, but still, it is very important for both teams to win. Lets disucss Pakistan’s tour in this blog.

Pakistan’s Tour of Sri Lanka, 2023 Schedule

Match Date and Time Venue 
Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka, 1st TestJuly 16–20, 10:30 AMGalle International Cricket Stadium, Galle
Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka, 2nd TestJuly 24-28, 10:30 AMSinhalese Sports Club, Colombo

With the 7th spot in the world test championship ranking, Pakistan cannot qualify for the finals. However, Pakistan played six test series in the tournament. Moreover, against the West Indies, Pakistan tied the series 2-2. However, Pakistan won 2-0 against Bangladesh. Furthermore, Pakistan lost against Australia by 0-1, and it tied against Sri Lanka by 1-1. The WTC 2021–23 cycle is not easy for Pakistan. Indeed, they tried hard but failed to secure a place in the finals. Therefore, it is important to win this series for the upcoming WTC.

Sri Lanka WTC 2021–23 Ranking

Sri Lanka performed much better than Pakistan. Moreover, Sri Lanka is in the third spot in the ICC World Test Championship 2021–23 points table. However, in this tournament, Sri Lanka played five test series. Out of five test series, Sri Lanka won against the West Indies in a two-match series. Furthermore, Sri Lanka lost a three-match test series to India. Later on, Sri Lanka won the test series against Bangladesh and tied the test series against Australia and Pakistan.

The new cycle of WTC is announced for 2023–25, with a Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka. On this tour, Pakistan will play two test matches in Sri Lanka. Pakistan’s tour will take place in July 2023. It is exciting to watch how both teams perform against each other. Moreover, this tour is also exciting because, after this, both teams will play in the World Cup 2023 in India.

Pakistan’s Stand on  World Cup 2023

The controversy is going on between India and Pakistan. However, India refused to send its team to the Asia Cup, which will take place in Pakistan. Based on this stand, Pakistan’s sports minister also threatened India that Pakistan would also withdraw from the World Cup in 2023.

Due to security reasons, India is demanding a neutral venue for the Aisa Cup. Because of this demand, Pakistan is not happy, and they are threatening to withdraw. However, the schedule for the Asian Cup has not been announced yet. According to some reports, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will jointly conduct the Aisa Cup.

However, the issue has not been resolved yet. In July 2023, Pakistan will be on a tour of Sri Lanka to play two Test matches. It is important for both teams to win this series. Moreover, this series will be part of the WTC 2023–25 cycle.

Pakistan Playing XI

Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, and Mohammad Rizwan Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Harish Rauf, and Naseem Shah

Sri Lanka Playing XI

Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, and Matheesha Pathirana

Pakistan Squad 

Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Harish Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, Ihsanullah, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim

Sri Lanka Squad

Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Mendis (WK), Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama (wk), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Dushan Hemantha