Yashasvi Jaiswal Relishes Test Hundred On Debut

Here is another history made by a young Indian player: After a stunning performance in the IPL, Yashasvi Jaiswal got an opportunity to represent India, and he used that opportunity very well. Yashasvi Jaiswal made history by scoring a century in his test debut match. However, he is the first Indian opener to score a century in a Test match away from home. Moreover, Yashasvi Jaiswal got his Test debut cap from captain Rohit Sharma and played a mind-blowing inning. Furthermore, on day 2, he scored a century at Windsor Park in Dominica. In the 70th over of India’s inning, Yashasvi Jaiswal completed his century with a single after facing 215 balls.

This young blood of India celebrated his century in grand fashion by removing his helmet and jumping in the air. Moreover, he got a standing ovation from the entire team in India’s dressing room. He then turned to Captain Rohit Sharma, who witnessed his century. However, Rohit Sharma also scored a century in his Test debut at Eden Gardens in Kolkata in 2013.

Yashasvi Jaiswal

Moreover, Jaiswal is the 17th Indian batsman to score a century in his Test debut match. But he stands out among them because he is the first Indian opener to achieve this away from home. However, previous openers Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw also scored centuries, but in India. Shikhar Dhawan scored a century in Mohali against Australia, and Prithvi Shaw scored against the West Indies in Rajkot.

In addition to this, he is the fifth Indian to score a century on Test debut overseas. The first player was Abbas Ali Baig against England in 1959; later on, Surinder Amarnath played in Auckland (1976), Pravin Amre in Durban (1992), Sourav Ganguly at Lord’s (1996), and Virender Sehwag in Bloemfontein (2001).

Also, at a very young age, Jaiswal joined the elite list as the fourth youngest player to score a century in his Test debut. Prithvi Shaw, Abbas Ali Baig, and Gundappa Viswanath are three players who are already on the list.

The last century India witnessed was in 2021, which came from the bat of Shreyas Iyer against New Zealand. However, in this format, Jaiswal played very well and showcased patience. He was an aggressive batter in the IPL, but this is the definition of a classy batsman: he knows how to change according to the format of the game. On the first day, he tried to hit some shots but maintained his momentum. So far in his inning, he has scored 11 fours.

This young guy has been in discussion since his performance in IPL 2023. However, with this fantastic performance, he etched his name in the history of Indian cricket. Moreover, his achievement is a reflection of his talent and determination towards the game. Also, with this performance, Yashasvi Jaiswal can be a useful asset for the Indian team.

India Tour Of West Indies Schedule 

1st Test: July 12–16, Windsor Park, Dominica

2nd Test: July 20–24, Queens Park, Oval

1st ODI: July 21 at Kensington Oval, Barbados

2nd ODI: July 29 at Kensington Oval, Barbados

3rd ODI: August 1: Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad

August 3: Thu: West Indies vs. India, 1st T20I (Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad)

August 6: Sun: West Indies vs. India, 2nd T20I (Princeton Stadium, Guyana)

August 8: Tuesday: West Indies vs. India, 3rd T20I (Providence Stadium, Guyana)

August 12: Saturday: West Indies vs. India, 4th T20I (Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, Florida)

August 13: West Indies vs. India, 5th T20I (Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, Florida)

India Tour Of West Indies Squad 

India’s Squad for the test

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini

India’s Squad for ODI

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar

Indias Squad for T 20  

Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar